NEWS: Russell Kennedy Lawyers named law firm of the year

Russell Kennedy Lawyers has been named Australia's 2020 ‘Law Firm of the Year’ in the area of Retirement Villages and Senior Living Law by Best Lawyers.

In addition, this year John Corcoran AM, Principal at Russell Kennedy, has been named the ‘Lawyer of the Year’ in the same category of Retirement Villages and Senior Living Law.

This is the third consecutive year in a row that a Russell Kennedy Principal has taken out this honour, with Rosemary Southgate and Donna Rayner having done so in the previous two years.

The Aged care and retirement living sector is a strong focus for Russell Kennedy. Of the 16 lawyers listed in Best Lawyers in Australia 2020 edition, 7 of them are recognised for expertise in the aged care, retirement living, senior living sectors. This list includes Principals Victor Harcourt, Rosemary Southgate, John Corcoran AM, Kathryn Elleman, Anita Courtney, Michael Gorton AM and Donna Rayner.

Earlier this year the firm announced a merger with respected Sydney-based firm Aitken Lawyers in a move that will create a combined 260-strong team that will have a national footprint and an expanded client offering.

Russell Kennedy Managing Director, Paul Gleeson, says: “This is another incredibly impressive award result for Russell Kennedy. Our inclusion in Best Lawyers is based entirely on peer review.”

He added: “There is a proven correlation between teams that are recognised by their industry peers time and time again and work that is exceptionally well thought of by clients.”

Russell Kennedy’s connection with the sector is reflected in their longstanding relationships with peak industry bodies such as LASA, ACSA, the Aged Care Guild and the Property Council of Australia.

As a firm Russell Kennedy has 16 lawyers listed across 16 specialities. See table below for details.

Andrew Chalet Biotechnology Law (since 2014), Commercial Law (since 2013)
Andrew Sherman Planning & Environmental Law (since 2017), Water Law (since 2012), Land Use & Zoning Law (2020)
Anita Courtney Health & Aged Care (2020) 
Anthony Massaro Occupational Health & Safety Law (since 2014)
Donna Rayner Retirement Villages & Senior Living Law (since 2013)
Ian Pridgeon  Land Use & Zoning Law (2020) 
John Corcoran AM Real Property Law (since 2016), Retirement Villages & Senior Living Law (since 2012), Commercial Law (since 2018)
Jos Mulcahy  Alternative Dispute Resolution (since 2019), Construction/Infrastructure Law (since 2014), Energy Law (since 2018), Government Practice (since 2020), Litigation (since 2011), Real Property Law (since 2017) 
Kathryn Elleman Retirement Villages & Senior Living Law (since 2014), Real Property Law (since 2020)
Libby Pallot Employee Benefits Law (since 2014), Occupational Health & Safety Law (since 2014)
Matthew Beazley Planning and Environmental Law (since 2014)
Michael Gorton AM Corporate/Governance Practice (since 2014), Health & Aged Care (since 2011)
Rosemary Southgate Retirement Villages & Senior Living Law (since 2012)
Sarah Manly  Government Practice (since 2020) 
Stefan Fiedler Land Use and Zoning Law (since 2014)
Victor Harcourt Government Practice (since 2014), Health & Aged Care (since 2012), Retirement Villages & Senior Living Law (since 2017)

BEST LAWYERS 2014 Australia