Skip to main content
article thumbnail

Michael Gorton AM


Bachelor of Laws, Bachelor of Commerce, Honorary Fellow of Royal Australasian College of Surgeons, Honorary Fellow of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists

  • Aged Care
  • Health
  • Government
  • Not-for-Profit
  • Commercial Agreements
  • Governance
  • Corporate Advisory
  • Commercial Advice
  • Regulatory Compliance

Michael is an experienced commercial lawyer with a focus on the health sector. Michael's clients benefit from his practical and commercial approach. Through his association with peak industry bodies and his position on numerous boards, Michael keeps abreast of developments in his area of practice and is often asked to address public and private companies and government and non-government organisations.

Michael was named Best Lawyers’ 2024, 2021 and 2013 “Lawyer of the Year” for Health and Aged Care Law. He has also been recognised by Best Lawyers since 2014 for expertise in Health and Aged Care Law, Corporate/Governance Practice, and Non-Profit/Charities Law.


  • Providing commercial, contract law and mergers and acquisitions advice for corporate businesses
  • Advising on corporate and clinical governance matters
  • Acting for a range of public and private companies and businesses and for a number of government and non-government organisations
  • Advising and acting for the health sector, including in relation to the regulation of health professionals, complaint handling (Ahpra/Health Services Commissioner), advising on medico-legal issues and other administrative and regulatory claims
  • Chairing the Expert Panel to review the Health Services Commissioner's legislation and has written extensively on medico-legal matters
  • Providing expert advice to medical organisations and health related bodies in relation to health research projects, privacy, qualified privilege and other commercial issues
  • Advising not-for-profit organisations (including large peak bodies) on major constitution reforms
  • Advising State and Local Government on a range of information technology procurements


  • President of the Board of Directors, Wellways Australia
  • Chair, Peninsula Health
  • Former Chair, Alfred Hospital
  • Chair, Holmesglen Institute of TAFE
  • Board Member, Latrobe Regional Hospital
  • Member, Order of Australia
  • Recognised by Best Lawyers for expertise in Health and Aged Care Law (since 2011), Corporate/Governance Practice (since 2014), and Non-Profit/Charities Law (since 2021)
  • Recognised by Best Lawyers as "Lawyer of the Year" for Health and Aged Care Law in Melbourne (2024, 2021 and 2013)
  • Ranked as Preeminent by Doyle's Guide, in the area of Health and Aged Care, Victoria, 2022
  • Awarded Paul Baker Prize, Law Institute of Victoria
  • Awarded Pro Bono - Metro Practitioner, Promoting Law in the Public Interest
  • Awarded Certificate of Service, Law Institute of Victoria
  • Awarded Outstanding Service, Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
  • Former President, Ally Law (previously International Alliance of Law Firms)
  • Former Board Member, Ambulance Victoria
  • Former Chair, Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency
  • Former Board Member, Melbourne Health (Royal Melbourne)
  • Former Board Member, Melbourne Primary Care Network Board (PHN)
  • Former Board Member, The Australian College for Emergency Medicine
  • Former Chair, Ministerial Patient Safety Advisory Committee
  • Former Deputy Chair and Board Member, Russell Kennedy Lawyers (2011-2017)
  • Former Chair, Patient Review Panel - Department of Health, Victoria
  • Former Chair and Board Member, Victorian Equal Opportunity & Human Rights Commission (1994–1999)(2009–2012)
  • Former Chair, Victorian Biotechnology Ethics Advisory Committee
  • Former Chair, Infertility Treatment Authority/Victorian Assisted Reproductive Treatment Authority (2002–2010)
  • Former National President, Greening Australia (1998–2000)
  • Former National Secretary and Former Victorian President, United Nations Association of Australia (1980–1990)
  • Former Inaugural Co-Chair, Reconciliation Victoria Incorporated (2000–2003)